jump to navigation

Paint by Numbers September 9, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Rants, Wordy Business.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Life is ruled by a series of passwords, usernames and email addresses. I sign in at work, identified as not even a name, but a long series of numbers. I type in my username – which has to be exactly 8 letters long, with one capital and one number. I log onto my Hotmail account… I sign out and log into my other Hotmail account. I check my bank account with a customer number and my pin. I draw out money with my pin, identified by a little metal chip. I check twitter, I blog, I switch constantly between accounts.

I worry, sometimes, that we will all forget who we are. That maybe, one day in the future, we will be little more than a username, and a password you have to constantly update.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

