jump to navigation

Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? October 6, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I have a balcony now. For me, this small achievement is a brilliant step up the (rented) property ladder, and one that essentially results in me have a reasonably spacious “garden”. As I am having no luck with fashion this week (my heels are breaking and I kind of look blah), I have instead begun to switch my planning mind onto thinking about my “garden” and how to both make it look pretty and be functional at the same time.

First off, I want herbs. I want a decadent herb garden for the urban type, full of delicious smelling, irresistably green foliage, perfect for the kitchen and for decorating the house – not to mention perfect for storing for winter!

A Bbautiful example of a herb pot (Indoors)

A beautiful example of a herb pot (Indoors)

 (Image from here)

So what herbs are vital to my kitchen?

  • Mint
  • coriander
  • Sage
  • Rosemary
  • Basil
  • Dill
  • Thyme
  • Oregano
  • Curry plant
  • Parsley

Next up, veg. Plenty of fruit and vegetables are quite happy to be grown on balconies, and provided I don’t kill them somehow I hope to have beautiful products for next year. Which veg seem to be most balcony friendly?

  • Chilli peppers
  • Sweet peppers
  • Potatoes (believe it or not!)
  • Strawberries
  • Tomatoes

 Other than that, I hope to have a hanging basket on each side of each window (I may cheat and buy ready planted hanging baskets…), a nice mini bay tree (because dry leaves aren’t even vaguely equivalent) and some pretty pots. I can’t wait!

Of course, buying the plants themselves is pretty expensive, and then I have to worry about the pots and containers for them all to fit in. High up on my slightly over-excited wish list for all my spare cash for approximately the next million years are a number of pretty garden pots with which I can transform the balcony into a gardeners paradise.

 

Lattice Planter

Lattice Planter

 

  • Lattice planter for anything that likes climbing!
  • Big plant pots
  • Strawberry planter
  • Baskets

 

Strawberry Planter (great for herbs too!)

Strawberry Planter (great for herbs too!)

 I can’t wait to have the money to actually put this plan into action!

Comments»

1. » The Fashion News Feed manoffashionnews - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

2. The Fashion News Stream « designerfashionarticles - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

3. More Fashion News Feed | Fashion Photos Journal - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

4. » Some Fashion Rounup fashionsketchesinfo - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

5. Fashion Forward Journal » My Fashion News Feed - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

6. The Fashion News Stream « fashioniconjournal - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

7. More Fashion Tidbits | Costume Fashion Weblog - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

8. We Heart This — Blog — More Fashion News - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

9. designersfashioninfo » Blog Archive » Some Fashion News - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

10. designerfashionarticles » Blog Archive » More Fashion News - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

11. Topcolumn.com Blogs — Blog — Some Fashion Tidbits - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

12. Some Fashion News Stream « Ladies Fashion Info - October 6, 2009

[…] Mary Mary Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow? […]

13. Esz - October 7, 2009

I have been dreaming of exactly the same things! Lots of pretty plants and pots. I have a Meyer lemon tree at the moment but want lots more of the things you mentioned. Yay! Here’s to gardening!

14. ElementalGrace - October 7, 2009

I plan to start a herb garden (an actual proper one outside) this/next year once the house is settled but for now, everything is happily residing on the windowledge in pots or at least was until the aphids murdered them. The plants aren’t so expensive if you don’t buy supermarket ones. Try ebay for cuttings or beg/borrow steal them from green-fingered friends and you can get decent and reasonably priced planters from ebay and customise with bits of trellis etc if you find you need them. Or if you want to grow from seed, it’s also pretty cheap.

Apparently lettuce are magically easy to grow – Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall did a thing on what was easy to grow at home but I can’t remember what series it was on :S

Anyway, can’t wait to see the progress…

15. Lauren Cooke - October 9, 2009

Hi Esz – ooh, a lemon tree. I didn’t think of that. Is it an edible lemon or a decorative?

Sarah – it should good, though I do wish I had a proper garden. I didn’t think of eBay for cuttings. I know homebase has herbs that are quite cheap so may be a good place to start, and friends/family have already been commanded to bring cuttings! hehe.

ElementalGrace - October 9, 2009

I used to work with a guy who sold bamboo cuttings on ebay so no reason why plants wouldn’t I suppose. Definitely don’t recommend buying the supermarket potted herbs. I’ve rarely had one that didn’t die within a few months, although I still have no idea why but never tried the Homebase ones. Our local farmers market has a good stand for plants and herbs and they’re quite reasonable and astonishingly knowledgeable about which ones are best in sun and shade etc so I try to go there when I can.

16. Lauren Cooke - October 9, 2009

They chop the roots on supermarket ones, that is why. I definitely wouldn’t buy them they are designed to die so you have to replace them.

17. ElementalGrace - October 9, 2009

So hard not to be a cynic when people go around doing things like that!


Leave a Reply

