jump to navigation

All on the hips October 26, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Foodiness, Inspiration, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I am thinking of starting up my Digging for Truffles food blog again. Whenever I do it inspires me to eat well and record my food habits, something I really ought to work harder on as there have been rather a lot of chocolate bars passing my lips recently! Of course, my body doesn’t crave or desire chocolate bars that often – I just eat them because somewhere deep down I feel I ought to! I also need to started using the Wii fit and exercising, so it is time for some real change to occur!

Other than food thoughts, however, I have been thinking about women, and our hips. My hips have always been a bit straight and boring, and I have this habit of assessing other women’s wonderful snake hips with utter jealousy.

How do their hips wiggle in just the right way? I have no natural swing to my hips, no rhythm – they just twitch occasionally and that is about it. How I long for svelte curvy hips swinging seductively from side to side. I have heard that practise can make perfect, but so far my hip swinging efforts have been failing terribly!

It doesn’t help that I am a straight figure, with few of those womanly wiles that make our bodies quite so beautiful, no matter what size they are.

The most wonderful hips have to belong to the stunningly curvy Christina Hendricks, and the equally brilliant Kate Winslet. Something to aspire to!

Curvy Christina Hendricks (Joan Holloway in MadMen) and her hips and breasts!

Curvy Christina Hendricks and her lovely hips!

English Rose Kate Winslet

English Rose Kate Winslet

Comments»

1. Stephie - October 26, 2009

I think it’s more about nipping in the waist!

2. Grethic - October 26, 2009

If you like truffles – this book will inspire you to plat your own wood http://www.timberpress.co.uk/books/?search=truffle – not sure what it will do for your hips though 🙂

3. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy - October 27, 2009

I love watching Joan/Ginger in her wiggle dresses on Madmen. You’re right – that’s a woman who know how to wiggle! xx

4. Helen - October 27, 2009

It’s all about embracing your ody shape and knowing how to dress it! Having a straight figure means that you can wear styles that we hourglasses can’t! We can also creat the illusion of curves…………come and see me and I can show you!

H x

5. Lauren Cooke - October 27, 2009

Hi Stephie – good point, it really is!

Hi Grethic – thanks for the tip, not that I have ever tried truffles! How bad is that?!

Hi Top Bird – doesn’t she just?! It isn’t fair

Hey Helsbels – I can and do dress my hips – but that can’t fix my inability to wiggle. Being straight is a blessing sometimes, but having wonky cranky joints is unfortunately something I can’t dress myself out of – they just don’t “swing”!

6. mara - December 29, 2009

Marilyn Monroe shaved 1/4″ off one heel to get that dip in her hips when she walked — perhaps you could try that. Think of them as training heels. Apologies for the pun 😉

7. On houses and things « A Typical Atypical - June 7, 2010

[…] my stats have plummeted – noone seems to be searching for Christina Hendricks any more. What did the poor gal do? Or maybe there is another sexy flame haired siren in town, and […]


Leave a Reply

