jump to navigation

Why do I love fashion? November 10, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This is a questions that I think people often wonder. Why do people find this sudden unquenchable interest in such a transient yet repetitive arena? Why do people find the clothes and the shoes and the art so utterly fascinating? For me particularly, I know people wonder how someone with absolutely no fashion sense, who hated shoe shopping, ends up writing on fashion blogs and gradually growing more and more involved with the industry?

catwalk

(Image from here)

I thought I would put together a post on the subject. So, here are some of my reason. These are mine individually, and I am sure they differ from your reasons – which is what I find fascinating! Let me know why you are involved, I would be fascinated to find out!

  • First, I love the passion it inspires in so many people. I love standing on the outside looking in at the effect fashion and catwalk have upon the, dare I say it, real world. The clothes people pick, the attitudes they assume, I adore watching it. I know that I come at fashion as an outsider, and I try to keep that attitude, being aware of the ridiculous and the horrible and the downright damaging sides of the fashion industry. This is the very reason I am so involved, as I can look in and observe the patterns – and as a psychology grad, what I see is amazing!

 

  • Um… the shoes. I know, I know, there should be a more complex reason. But for me, shoe never fit as a child. My long gangly feet were huge in length but teeny width wise, and I used to trail around shoe shop after shoe shop searching for a pair that fit. I hated shoes. And then, when I was all grown up, they started fitting. Like some sort of overcompensation, I quickly became obsessed. After all, they are just so darn pretty!

 

  • My third reason is, in my humble little opinion, an interesting one. I love watching an industry that believes so strongly in what it does. That belief, however, is surprisingly transient, a little bubble of belief that will have changed as “fashion” does. Outside that bubble, however, time passes, people change, and only some styles get adopted. Do people choose for practicality? Does one designer inspire the masses? What makes one dress and another similar one sell on such different levels?

 

  • Finally, I take a guilty pleasure in being involved in fashion. In finding that accidently, even though I generally follow my own trends, I know what is happening on the catwalk. I know what you guys think, what you write on your blogs, what is “in” and “out”. That, my friends, is a nice feeling, and probably one I would have had whatever area I chose. I love to feel involved!

Interestingly, it isn’t all about the art that the fashion industry obsesses over. In fact, transient fashion doesn’t play much of a part in my life, only introducing pieces I love to a wardrobe I don’t believe gets outdated – not if I still like it at least!

Comments»

1. Twisted Tina - November 12, 2009

I love how fashion can project an outward attitude of what’s on the inside, esp how jewelery or shoes or a belt can change a whole vibe. Um, yeah, and the shoes! 🙂

2. getme! - November 12, 2009

Hear about the Heroes in Heels. A latest Utah Women Poll exposing the top 3 things women really want. For the latest in fashion and trends visit womens boots and Shoes for the Sole.

3. r4 dsi - November 12, 2009

Hi.
Fashion had bigger name in all over world and i am fashion crazy..
so this article will really helpful for me…

4. silvia - April 11, 2011

fashion is my life i love fashion more than anyone in the world


Leave a Reply

