jump to navigation

I had forgotten I could feel like this… January 25, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Depression, Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Nope, that isn’t a line from a dodgy romantic song. It is, actually, a honest comment. I can’t remember the last time I felt like this.

“Like this” is happy. Light. Chirpy. Able to get out of bed in the morning with a minimal amount of trouble, and be bright and awake pretty much as soon as I am out of bed. Feeling motivated and intelligent (!!) and also a little bit silly. Essentially, for the first time in a very long time I am not feeling depressed on some level.

What is interesting, and fascinating, is that I have been on Sertraline for less than 2 weeks. Considering that Prozac (Fluoextine) took months to kick in last time I was on antidepressants, this is extraordinary! After a week I am feeling the effect quite dramatically, and the undercurrent of negativity seems to have lifted. I may be bouncing up only to come back down again, but at this point I don’t mind – I would take just one week of feeling like this over nothing, any day.

How fast is that though! Incredible! And with no side effects other than an incredibly rumbly tummy, and goosebumps for no reason on my leg!

Comments»

1. Roisin - January 25, 2010

I’m so glad you’re feeling better and have such a positive attitude about it. You were on really good form on Friday night and sparkly with it – Nic commented to me on the way home how vivacious he thought you were. And you are! 🙂

2. Selina - February 9, 2010

Yay for feeling better! And sorry I’m so late commenting – I’m so far behind on my blog reading and I’ve ended up reading them all out of order!

I’ve been on Paroxetine (often sold as Aropax) for nearly seven years. It works really well for me as it also treats my anxiety disorder. It took a few weeks to notice the difference, and the initial side effects weren’t at all fun, but they went away. I’m a different person with the help of the medication, and I know exactly what you mean about the revelation of waking up feeling happy.

*hugs*


Leave a Reply

