jump to navigation

Underwear as Outerwear February 3, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Vintage.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Everyone has been going on and on about underwear as outerwear in this seasons fashion recommendations. Much of the talk has been pretty incredulous – do people really do that?! The general consensus seems to be that on rare occasion this could work (with a corset for example), but that generally this lends itself to promiscuous tasteless looks and a certain lack of dignity. I have to say that I disagree. I don’t think we should go all Superman, with knickers over our tights, but a little clever layering and underwear usage can make for a great and intelligent outfit.

Inspired by Caroline, Queen of Slips, I have had a bit of a hunt for slips that are as pretty as dresses, lounge-wear that would be wonderful  as outerwear, and even the occasional leather corset. Let me know what you think!

Click on the image to get taken through to the item page!

First, the slips:

Red Slip Trimmed With White Lace

This one is beautiful and incredibly feminine, and I could see if being worn with quite a wintery jumper in white.

Red Slip With Flared Skirt

This skirt makes me think of flamenco dancers and Spanish passion. The opaque colour makes it perfect outerwear, whilst the flared skirt adds some variety.

Leopard Print Full Slip

I surprisingly love this tiered leopard print full slip. You would need to wear another slip underneath it (of course!), but I think this could make a surprisingly tasteful outfit. It would look great under clothes too!

Next, the nightgowns!

Peach and Lace Full Length Nightgown

I doubt this would be everyday wear, but this nightgown would look gorgeous dressed up for an evening do!

Ladylike Elegant Vintage Nightgown

If you have ever fancied being a princess this nightgown is for you. Whether for twirling around the house or actually wearing to a ladylike event, I reckon it will be gorgeous!

Next, bit and pieces, such as Corsets and so on!

Brocade Waist Corset/Cincher

This style allows you to combine a corset into your outfit without going over-the-top. This will work as a dramatically clinching Obi belt, and is plain gorgeous!

Fabulous Tropical Vintage Lounge Set

I can’t believe that this skirt used to be worn inside only. This beautiful retro print would work so well as a pencil skirt, and I think it deserves to see the light of day!

Unusual Steampunk Leather Corset

For the brave amongst you, this leather corset will work with Victorian-inspired steampunk outfits and full-skirted dresses – it doesn’t have to be as risky as it first appears!

Comments»

1. Amber - February 3, 2010

I actually quite like silk slips as evening dresses: Topshop have a gorgeous one at the moment, although it IS in the “dresses” section, so perhaps it’s lined, and would feel more substantial than an ACTUAL slip! Pyjamas and dressing gowns, on the other hand…

When I was at university, I remember my best friend buying a blue satin nightie from Miss Selfridge and wearing it regularly to go clubbing. We thought absolutely nothing of it at the time 🙂

2. Lauren Cooke - February 3, 2010

I haven’t seen that one in Topshop, ill have to have a look! I love satin dresses, and very enarly bought a slip to wear to my 1930’s do!

Nowt wrong with satin for clubbing either! x

3. Diana - February 4, 2010

I’m so glad these looks are becoming acceptable. I used to have a silk night-gown that I wanted to wear as a tunic, but everyone I knew thought it was too scandalous.
Silk slips can make great layering pieces too.

4. Denise - February 4, 2010

Really cool! I bought a transparent dress last year, with a parsley print. It came with a very simple black camisole to wear underneath, with thin straps, and I immediately thought “hey! Two dresses for the price of one!” I will definitely wear the camisole as a normal dress!

5. Sarah - December 27, 2010

I wear mini half slips as skirts all the time, and have for years with no problem. Alot of times I will hear what a cute skirt I have on. Most have little or no lace at all, and no one really knows that its actually underwear that i am wearing as outerwear


Leave a Reply

