jump to navigation

Weekend In The Big Smoke March 29, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Family, Life, Chatter & Politics, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Whew. What a weekend. I want to share it, yet at the same time I don’t have the faintest clue where to start. It was, you see, a weekend filled with fun, frolics, and frivolity – with a hefty spoonful of decadence thrown in for good measure.

My mother and I headed down to London on Friday. Upon arrival at our cheap budget hotel, the Majestic, we were told that there was a problem. They were very enigmatic, avoiding any questions, and for a while we wondered if they simply hadn’t booked us a room. Our worries were proved to be slightly paranoid, however, as we were soon carted of by taxi to a much swisher hotel, where we were soon settled into a neat tidy room and counting our lucky stars that us scruffy buggers had essentially been upgraded!

The first day was spent perusing the Place In The Sun show at Earls Court, with awkward little me desperately trying to persuade my mother to buy expensive and impractical renovation projects abroad! Needless to say she didn’t cave, but I believe fun was had nonetheless. After that we smartened ourselves up, as we had a posh meal to go to in London. Suffice to say that the meal was wonderful, but I can’t tell you any more as I will be reviewing it for LastMinute.com as soon as I can!

After a luxury meal, and a stroll around late night Kensington, came Saturday. First we headed to Harvey Nichols so that I could drool over the Louboutins that, quite frankly, are beautiful enough to die for. Oh, and for my mum to dream of wearing some of the stunning Alexander McQueen pieces – the more off-the-wall the better! Other than the workmanship, however, most of the very expensive clothes seemed somewhat ridiculous, and the exceptions were few and far between.

Carre Chocolat

(Image from here)

Then came tea and a delicious cake at the Ladurée cafe in Harrods. This was an overdue mothers day present, and had I been allowed to take pictures I would have snapped you one of the frankly sublime cuisine. I’m talking about a tiny square of mouth-watering chocolate cake, and a gorgeous raspberry studded tart – along with a delicately scented and complex tea, and a hot chocolate so thick and decadent it was more dessert than drink!

Priscilla Queen of the Desert

After shopping til we dropped (I bought such a pretty Fever dress!) we headed back into town for the biggest treat of the weekend – going to the theatre! We were seeing the beautifully camp and hilarious Priscilla Queen of the Desert – and what a phenomenal show it was too. I had seen the film, and the musical was different – but just as enjoyable. We laughed raucously at the terrible innuendo, and even bopped along wildly to the great music choices. And I can safely say that it is the first time I have seen a man in a thong right in front of me!

For the meal I wore:

What I wore

Black Jumpsuit: ASOS.com
Blues heels: Faith

Comments»

1. Louise - March 29, 2010

It sounds like a fabulous weekend. I love Priscilla, I’d love to see the musical. You look gorgeous for your meal out. I love your hair like that.

2. Alysa - March 30, 2010

What a great weekend! I love the jumpsuit – is that blue shoes you’re wearing, too? 🙂


Leave a Reply

