jump to navigation

Fashion Fetishes April 9, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Some cheeky people would say that I have a shoe fetish. Personally I believe that it is not so much a fetish as an obsession. A dangerous obsession bordering on addiction. However, what is undeniable is the fact that I wear and own a lot of different shoes, mainly heels, and that the sight of a beautiful pair of meticulously crafted Mary Janes or curved Louboutin stilettos can make me go weak at the knees. 

My Beloved Louboutins

If fetish is defined as an obsession bordering on lust – but which doesn’t have to have anything to do with sex, the context in which it is generally used, then of course, I also know that I am not the only person out there with a bit of a fetish. In fact, Dictionary.com defines it quite neatly –

1. an object regarded with awe as being the embodiment or habitation of a potent spirit or as having magical potency. 2. any object, idea, etc., eliciting unquestioning reverence, respect, or devotion: to make a fetish of high grades.

In that case, many of us will have a particular fetish! And the range is wide and varied!

However, how does a fetish begin?

I think that all too often a really all-encompassing love of a certain item of clothing happens following a negative experience. Almost like something bag makes us realised just how good something else is – and the ensuing waves of positive emotion soon turn themselves into a shameless and unapologetic fetish to beat all fetishes. For me it was that as a kid growing up, shoe never fit. I remember long haunting shopping trips every summer, around city after city, all as part of the hun for narrow shoes that fitted my school criteria. Then, as I (dare I say it) started to grow up, something miraculous happened. My feet shrunk a bit and got a little wider, and suddenly shoes from all over the shop were fitting my footish dimensions. It was a miracle. Suddenly, after years of hating shoe shopping, it was a pleasure – and so it began.

For other people it could be that they always had to wear a horrible style of skirt to school – and that the day they discovered a brilliantly flattering alternative was the day it all started. Or perhaps that handbag someone had used for years and years finally broke, and they had to switch to a new one. The replacement handbag was such a revolution that they looking at purses in a whole new light, and started collecting.

I don’t know many fetishes with specific items of clothing that haven’t come out of an experience like this – but I may be wrong.

Do you have a fashion fetish? How did yours start?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

