jump to navigation

The wonders of being skint August 11, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Family, Life, Chatter & Politics.
trackback

budget (Image from here)

This is a hard month, financially. Moving house, paying rent and deposits, paying the first round of bills, feeling emotionally crippled and having to go home, entertaining friends – it has all combined to mean than now I am on a serious SERIOUS budget until the next pay check. Which is in three weeks time.

We all have periods like this. I remember many periods as a child where we were flat broke, and where every penny had to be counted out and saved. It was hard at the time, especially for my parents, but I do credit it in many ways with the fact that nowadays I am actually quite good with my cash. I am also very open – you want to know how much I earn, just ask. I’ll probably talk to you at some point about what I save. I have a terrible habit of following up any complements on my clothing with “eBay, 50p”.

As it happens, this month is probably harder than it could have been thanks to saving. However, I used up all of my savings paying off my overdraft and my course, and the past few months (what with all the unplanned expensive of relationship problems and moving house) have left me with a deep sense of panic about the fact my fall-back cushion has gone. As such, I have had to start saving, so that I feel safe. I am also paying my mum back, and it has all built up.

The upshot of all this is that this weekend, when I was meant to be heading down to Devon for a long-anticipated reunions with friends I haven’t seen in far too long. It is a properly important date, and thanks to my ever-dwindling bank balance I can’t afford the ticket home. I also can’t afford alcohol or supplies for the night. I am, obviously, gutted about this – I had been looking forward to it for so long, and wish I had been able to find a cheap train ticket.

All I can hope is that the Devon-ites don’t hold it against me for too long. I would have loved to be there, I truly would… but I just can’t😦

Comments»

1. squeezegutalley - August 11, 2010

A good south Leam tip – veggie samosas from Millenium Sweet House are 30p each. A filling and seriously tasty snack!

2. Tina - August 11, 2010

Justa thought – have you tried National Express or Megabus? T xx

Lauren Cooke - August 11, 2010

Good idea, but sadly National Express is even more expensive… despite the fact it takes longer!

3. MissMatilda - August 11, 2010

I think this post is wonderful!

I don’t do anything anymore unless I have hard cash to do it, you are very wise!

4. Alysa - August 12, 2010

I think the ‘ebay, 50p’ comeback is rather inspiring (if irksome to those of us who don’t have your bargain-hunting nose!). I hope some free foraging at the weekend will help soften the blow just a little.


Leave a Reply

