jump to navigation

A Little Political Rant… September 16, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics, Rants.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
pope benedict

Pope Benedict

I am sorry guys. I have been steering clear of politics for a while now, but I had to put my head above the parapet to have a little rant about, you guessed it, the Pope’s visit.

Firstly, let me state my position when it comes to Catholicism. I don’t like the religion – I disagree passionately with its depressing and heart-wrenching emphasis on guilt and regret. I disagree with its outdated and frankly dangerous  attitudes to homosexuality, contraception, and a myriad of hot topics that really need to be reviewed. I dislike the gathering of immense wealth, and the long studied history of maltreating people. Catholics, however, I have no problem with. It is merely, as is all too often the case, the organised religion and all of its many failings that I protest against, rather than the normal everyday people who happen to believe its teachings. That said, of course, I will happily debate with anyone over the “rights and wrongs” of being gay, or using a condom. Or being gay and using a condom.

Everyone is aware of the Pope’s visit. After all, we should be, as it is the regular tax payers who are funding this trip. This, as you may have realised, is what I need to rant about.

The thing is, you see, that we are a non-secular country. Although Christian (in various different forms) throughout history, in this enlightened age anyone is free to believe in whatever they want, and as such we don’t conform to secular views of a country-wide religious direction. We are growing ever prouder of our multiculturalism, and many many faiths are practised under our grey and overcast skies. Noone should be separated based on their faith.

Why, therefore, is one religion having so much money spent on it? Why, more to the point, is one incredibly rich and affluent religion failing to fund itself? After all, I and many others have no interest in seeing a theologically conservative and thoroughly indoctrinated and old-fashioned man, and don’t see why my money should pay for it. There is plenty of cash in the Catholic churches coffers, let me tell you, and I don’t see why they aren’t coughing it up.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t have a problem with the Pope visiting. As the Queen said (good god, I am agreeing with the Queen!) earlier today, freedom of religion is very important in our country. The tax payer’s money funding it, however, seems more than a little cheeky…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

