jump to navigation

Best on the Highstreet | This Season’s Shoes September 21, 2010

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I love shoes, as you may well have guessed. I would imagine the rather sizeable shoe collection would be your first clue. However, although I dream of owning a number of wonderful designer pairs of shoes, I don’t want to spend lots of money on them. Thanks to this, most of my wonderful shoes come from highstreet brands like Topshop (their clothes may be horrid, but I lurve their shoes!) or New Look. So, in the spirit of window shopping and being able to justify it, I thought I would write a post to sum up the best “on trend” shoes that are credit card friendly.

Click the image to go to the product page!

Shearling shoes

Shearling and furs are everywhere at the moment. Some of the fuzzy creations I hate, but other examples actually make me feel all appropriately wintery and snuggly. The line between cute and terrible is a thin one, but in my opinion you can’t go much wrong with these ones.

fluffy cuff fur trimmed ankle boots

OK, they might be slightly tasteless, but these New Look boots are Snow Queen boots!

Topshop fur buckle over knee boots

Shearling is actually sexy in these Topshop boots!

chunky fur lined river island boots

Working the "walking boot" look pretty effectively at River Island

Chunky Heels

The 90s have returned! In many ways this is, quite frankly, terrifying. However, some of the designs have made chunky heels look as good as possible, and I have found myself pining after examples like the oh-so-coveted swallow heels from Miu Miu. On the highstreet the risk is that shoes will look a little outdated, but there are still some modern interpretations out there…

thick chunky heeled 90s inspired platforms

I feel I should dance to the Spice Girls in these. OK, so I always dance to the Spice Girls... but still!

GRADE Wood Heel Court Shoes topshop

Slightly more wearable court shoes from Topshop

ASOS purple tasselled chunky heeled boots

I may be in the minority loving these quirky ASOS boots, but I don't care!

Brogues

These seem to have been in fashion for ever, but I still don’t own a pair. I find that they are quite hard to do, and the majority of the brogues out there can look a little grannyish. However, there are some lovely ones, you just have to hunt them out.

irregular choice yellow brogue heels

Be bold and brave in yellow brogues from Irregular Choice

Bertie Zenobia calf height brogue boots

Brogues in boot form from ever-lovely Bertie

Tan Floral Brogue miss selfridge

If you must wear flat brogues, these floral ones from Miss Selfridge are probably the best!

See anything you like?!

Comments»

1. Amy - September 21, 2010

This post has made me hanker after brogues even more than I was already!

Currently having a shoe mourn, as for some reason my feet seem to have shrunk and NONE of my heels fit me….though this is clearly a sign that I need to buy lots of new ones!

A x

2. Amber - September 21, 2010

I really, really, really want the Topshop over-the-knee shearling boots. I can only imagine how snuggly and warm they’d be🙂

3. sparrowrags - September 21, 2010

I am dying for those yellow brogues! want! Its so hard to find me shoes though, as I have large and flat feet, especially heels. Or else I’d buy those puppies on line right now!

4. Louise - September 21, 2010

Tasteless or not, I actually like the New Look snow queen boots… I may even put them on my christmas list.🙂

5. Sharon - September 22, 2010

I love shoes too🙂
Especially high heels.

The “walking boot” is lovely.

6. kateohkatie - October 8, 2010

LOVE the Irregular Choice yellow beauties! So puurrrrrdy🙂


Leave a Reply

