jump to navigation

All about the lurgy January 8, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Life, Chatter & Politics.
Tags: ,
trackback

As everyone in Leamington (and probably up and down the country too) knows, I have been ill this week. I made it to work on Tuesday, but I probably shouldn’t have, and for the first time in my life I had the rest of the week off ill. It has, of course, been horrible, as this flu has been bad enough to consign me to bed almost all the time, and to make me all pathetic and whiney!

You see, other than feeling blocked up and headachey and now on the verge of a nasty dose of sinusitis, this isn’t actually the reason that I hate being ill quite so much.

I hate being out of control. Even though I am one of those people who avoids making decisions, I am generally very much in control of my life. I decide if I have a lie in, or whether I get up early. I choose what I do, where I go, where I work and who I talk to. When I am ill, however, I have that control taken away from me. I simply have to lie back, and let the world tell me what to do. I am a victim of the world, unable to make any of my own decisions – aside from whether to sneeze now, or see if I can hold it in! And, even when I think I am getting better, the world likes to kick me up the ass and remind me that it is in charge. I get better if and when my immune system and Mother Nature decide they want me to.

Bastards!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

