jump to navigation

Discovering my independence January 14, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Travel.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

In case you somehow managed to miss it, I am currently planning a pretty big trip away. It is a solo trip, and I am going to hopefully spend three months making friends and memories before coming back to the real world. Prepare yourself for a certain onslaught of holiday related blog posts!

The first life lesson from this trip has happened before I have even booked the tickets.

I have always been a bit of a lone wolf. I had best friends rather than groups of friends for most of my school life. Now I have moved to Leamington I find it easiest to keep in contact with only a select few people. I can up sticks and move houses or towns without much in the way of worries, although I do still miss people. However, a lot of the time I feel like I ought to want company, and that my favourite time spent alone would be better spent with other people. Don’t get me wrong, I like company and suchlike, but the need to sometimes do things my way has always seemed like selfishness and self-indulgence.

After exploring options for travelling with people for large sections of the trip, I suddenly realised something. I am an independent and able woman, and this is my holiday. I don’t actually want to share the planning with people – I want it to be mine, I want to head out into the world and make my mark. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to do the trip in silence – I will meet people on the way and am consciously planning ways to make this easy – but I want to do my trip all by my lonesome as far as the entirety of it goes.

Essentially the life lesson is this. Sometimes, it is good to be selfish. For an amazing experience like this, the most important thing is how I feel – and if that means I get to discover my independence and bravery in the bargain then that? Well, that is great.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

