jump to navigation

It sings of love February 3, 2011

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Music, Wordy Business.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Music can, if done well, be a true gateway to the soul. It alone is the thing that can calm me down, get inside my brain and make me realise that things aren’t as bad as they seem, that other people have felt the things that I feel. A head-banging session can get rid of any anger I may have lurking inside me, a soft sultry session with a gentle lullaby can wash away all of my worries and strife.

Today I was listening to some of my favourite songs. They are all gentle, these ones, soft tunes that have the ability to possess me, to wipe clean the slate in my mind and reset me back to a happier, calmer place. What I realised, as those tunes washed over me, is that the feeling truly good music arouses in me is actually the closest I have ever come to feeling in love without actually being “In Love”. They can make my breath quicken, goosebumps prickle upon my skin. As the crescendos build and the melody unravel, I actually feel that magical fluttering in the pit of my stomach, that flip-flop feeling that only comes from feeling magic.

These songs? They sing to me of love.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

