jump to navigation

Little cop outs March 30, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Art.
Tags: , ,
trackback

It is such a copout, isn’t it, to draw people and avoid drawing their faces. Unfortunately, my faces always look like they have been squished with a shovel or transplanted from a pig, and so avoiding drawing them in one of my biggest aims. A good excuse, I have discovered, is to make them wear masks! Hence why my latest magical woman has a certain ninja quality to her!

floating ninja woman

Now spider faces, I can do. In fact, I am average at anything that doens’t involved a human face, human hands, or human feet. This one actually looked quite scary despite the fact that, as Ben pointed out, it actually looks like it’s been crossed with a bee!

spider sketch

Comments»

1. gildedfolly - April 1, 2009

Bit of trivia for you: when Maurice Sendak was writing his famous children’s book ‘Where the Wild Things are’ he wanted it to be about horses. He changed to monsters cos he couldn’t draw horses very well! Everyone has their adversaries! xx

2. mysterycreature1 - April 1, 2009

Hehe, and the world benefitted dramatically – I can’t see yet another horsey book storming the world like this one has!


Leave a comment