jump to navigation

Getting Crunchy June 24, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Family, Life, Chatter & Politics, Rants.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It has been a difficult week for people, so far. A difficult couple, in fact. All around me, things are starting to fall apart. Jobs, plans, hopes, dreams. Despite talk of the recession lifting, this past few weeks has seen it suddenly take a big crunchy bite into the lives and loves of friends all around me.

I hate the fact that cars will break only when you have no money. That people you know and love will be without jobs in the blink of an eye. That contracts fall through, that hopes become impossible to follow through. It sounds very negative, but it is true!

Essentially, for the first time, the credit crunch is starting to hit home, and it hurts. It is unfair, cruel, and unpredictable. It makes me want to moan and whine.

Ironically (and probably ill-advisedly), pressure like this makes me want to spend more. I want to alleviate the ear, annoyance and trepidation by buying pretty things, by spending my hard earned (and now even more vital) cash. I keep finding myself on eBay, indulging in reckless bidding and foolish shopping therapy. I need to stop.

Sending a little hug out there to anyone who needs one, and sincere hopes that things will get better.

Comments»

1. Kate - June 24, 2009

What is it about financial stress that makes us want to spend, spend, spend? Sending a hug back to you – things WILL get better.

2. mysterycreature1 - June 24, 2009

Aw, thanks Kate. I’m sure things will, and it’s generally ok for me… it’s just all the people around me that I feel for.

3. nectarfizz - July 16, 2009

OK girl. Just for you, I am going this weekend to the nearest thrift consignment shop and taking some photos of what they have. Then you can give me info on what is cool and what it best left on the hanger. You in?

4. nectarfizz - July 16, 2009

Ps. my email addy is bekki.bedow@gmail.com


Leave a comment