jump to navigation

Whitecurrant Cupcakes with Decadent Icing July 27, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Foodiness.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

As promised, here is  a lovely picture of my delicious white-currant cupcakes with swathes of vanilla buttercream. Delicious! I am taking the remainder to Kate’s tonight for us girls to enjoy with pink wine and Hugh Jackman on the TV. I am inordinately excited about the film, which clearly indicates I haven’t  seen enough heavenly male torsos in the past few weeks!

No recipe to post today – I used the unusual (more milk than butter) recipe from Hummingbird Bakery. I’m not totally happy with writing this up on my blog, but someone else has written it up here. I would definitely recommend the book though, as the pictures are beautiful and the recipes legendary. I look forward to trying out more in the coming weeks.

Whilst the cake method was revolutionary, the buttercream icing was just buttercream icing – butter, icing sugar, milk and vanilla. So simple but so effective! I realised I have definitely been a bit tight on the mixing time for the icing – I wouldn’t do it for any less than 4 minutes now!

whitecurrant cupcakes with vanilla frosting

As a complete aside, I much prefer the American “frosting” to the British “icing”. Whilst both cold and wintry in feel, I just get this huge burst of “Mmmmm… yummy” as soon as frosting is mentioned! This is much the same, I suppose, to my preference for “thrifting” over “being a tight bugger and shopping for bargains”!

Comments»

1. noemi - July 27, 2009

yummmyyyy……

mysterycreature1 - July 29, 2009

Indeed Noemi!

2. dreamsequins - July 28, 2009

Are those grapes or berries as topping? I’m so hungry right now!

mysterycreature1 - July 29, 2009

Whitecurrants, Dream. Very sweet, yet very tart. Yum!

3. Kate - July 30, 2009

I can categorically and unequivocally state that these cupcakes were DELICOUS!!! Thanks for treating us and I will definitely be taking you up on your offer to borrow the book once you have spent plenty of time with it!

4. Sharing « all five horizons - July 30, 2009

[…] Caroline, Lauren and Helen, over for movie night.  We watched Australia, drank rosé wine, ate yummy cupcakes and cried our eyes out. And swooned. Did we […]

5. GG - August 2, 2009

Those look delicious! Can’t beat a bit of vanilla buttercream…


Leave a comment