jump to navigation

Oh the colours… April 22, 2009

Posted by Lauren Cooke in Fashion, Photos, What I Wore.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I know I keep going on about sunshine and colours at the moment, but it does seem to be that life has sprung out of nowhere this spring. And not just any old life – no! It is bright, beaming, vibrant life, full of flowers and colours and swathes of beauty. I think that the sun has shocked a once dormant vitality out of the cynical British earth – where once our country no longer bothered with seasons, now they spring in abundance, each one more typical and delightful than the last.

I am not the only person who has noticed this. Miss Whistle writes about bluebell woods, and spring being summer themed. All across the country, spring fashions have been replaced with white cotton dresses, smooth brown legs exposed bare to the world. Skin bathes in the sun, wherever I look.

Summer garden

This is a particular garden that I stop and stare at every time I walk to work – it is full to the overflowing brim with bluebells, tulips, daffodils, dandelions. The bright heads raised up to the clear blue sky. Stunning.

pink blossom

This tree, near my house, is the influence for today’s outfit – floral pinks, tones with yellow and chunky wooden heels. I feel like summer epitomised! I wore it with a yellow ribbon, not the silver belt pictured!

pink vintage dress

Comments»

1. Nikki - April 25, 2009

Ahh I love summer so much… it makes me feel so happy. That’s a lovely dress as well.

2. Eeli - April 25, 2009

Oh that is such a gorgeous dress! I can imagine the yellow ribbon carefully placed around the waist and I see absolute ❤ lol.

3. mysterycreature1 - April 25, 2009

Hi Nikki – Summer makes me happy through and through. Such as shame we get such a tiny one in the UK!

Hi Eeli – thanks for the compliment 🙂 I love this dress, and it looked really cool with the ribbon


Leave a comment